top of page

30-Day Writing Plan: Day 8, Balance


I think deep down we wish we all had balance in our lives. The optimum level for each of us to function the most effectively, not too much, not too little. Personally, I'm not any good at balance, especially trying to balance my time. I know that it's essential for students to manage their time well, find a good work-life balance. I've seen on social media platforms that students have 3 main things they spend their time on, studies, sleep and social. Imagine it like a pie chart., if too much is allocated to one section, the others are reduced.

As a student it is quintessential for us to experience a bit of everything, if not how do we learn. Of course studying and maintaining good grades are important, that should be a student's number one priority. However, as the saying goes, all work and no play makes Jack a dull child. Enjoying time out with friends, taking up leadership positions, joining workshops, these all give you knowledge you can't find in a textbook. Learning life skills like how to navigate the country or how to approach companies are essential soft skills for one's future. These activities all take time. If one does not manage their time well, spends too much time out with friends, usually their studies will take a hit. Thus having a good balance is important, and I am working towards that. Setting up timetables for myself, giving myself limits. This "lock down" we are currently experiencing thanks to Covid-19 has allowed me to spend a lot more time on sleep and studying, it has reset my personal pie graph. I think I have managed to find a good balance for my time, but of course there's room for improvement.

Comments


bottom of page