top of page

30-Day Writing Plan: Day 1, Fool


I was 10 or 11 then, a strange part of me felt compelled to do it. Indecisive as always, I thought to myself, maybe I can wait till I'm older to try it. After all, I always see my older friends having it, maybe it's not the right time. Nevertheless, I went through with it, I could feel the cold the moment I lay my hands on it. I pulled out a couple hazel-tinted tissues and a paper wrapped straw. Tearing open the wrapping made me feel like I was a kid opening presents. I took out the forest green straw and planted it into the icy abyss. I took a sip. The cold made my mouth feel numb as small chunks of ground up ice slid down my throat. At the back of my throat I could feel a tint of bitter aftertaste. I wasn't able to tell whether I liked it then. Whenever I drank it now, the slivers of that bitter aftertaste never fails to bring me back to the first time I drank a Starbucks Coffee.


Comments


bottom of page