top of page

30 Day Writing Plan: Day 19, Cry


Having been brought up in a conservative Asian household, I've always been taught that to be a man, I shouldn't cry. When guys cry, it is viewed as a sign of weakness, a momentary loss of control over our emotions. To be a man, you have to be strong, stand up for yourself. Merely discussing about crying is a taboo topic among guys. Over time, this just becomes the norm, and we just bottle up everything inside of us. Slowly, I just somehow lost the ability to cry, I don't know why, but no matter how much I've wanted to just let it all out, I can't. It's quite strange really, wanting to cry so bad but not being able to. All that emotion just turns to anger, and anguish. This world is tough, all I hope is that no matter what, each and every one of us can find ways to make it through this journey. We are all imperfect people, living in an imperfect world.

Comments


bottom of page